SEMINARS


Webinar by Yassine Lefouili, Toulouse School of Economics, "Mergers and Demand-Enhancing Innovation".

SPEAKER

Yassine Lefouili,

Toulouse School of Economics










DATE

May the 11th, 2021

11:00 to 12:00 London time.


LOCATION

Event will be held online

TECHNIS is pleased to invite you to a free webinar. TECHNIS webinars focus on IP and innovation examining recent legal, economic, managerial, ethical and policy issues related to technological innovation. Our approach is interdisciplinary and presentations are given by experts in different fields such as economics, law, management, STS, sociology, anthropology and philosophy. Webinar presentations last for 20min and are followed by a 40min discussion.


Please join us for a webinar on Tuesday the 11th of May 2021 at 11:00 London time i.e. 12:00 Brussels time, 13:00 Athens time. The speaker is Yassine Lefouili, Toulouse School of Economics. The title of the talk is "Mergers and Demand-Enhancing Innovation". The paper can be found at:

https://www.tse-fr.eu/sites/default/files/TSE/documents/doc/wp/2018/wp_tse_907.pdf


This webinar is free and open to all. The moderator is Dr. Andreas PanagopoulosTo join us follow this link: https://hello.freeconference.com/conf/call/3011249


Abstract: We study the impact of horizontal mergers on merging firms' incentives to invest in demand-enhancing innovation. In our baseline model, we identify four effects of a symmetric merger on these incentives: the innovation diversion effect, the margin expansion effect, the demand expansion effect, and the per unit return to innovation effect. We offer sufficient conditions for a merger to reduce or raise merging firms' incentives to innovate in the absence of spillovers and efficiency gains in R&D, and find that a comparison between the innovation diversion and price diversion ratios is informative about the impact of a merger on innovation.